Can you register a boat without a title in Texas? Are you looking to register a boat in Texas but don’t have a title for it? Registering your vessel with the state is an important step in owning and operating your boat legally.
In this blog post, Scott Ewart will provide detailed information about steps to register a boat in Texas. Understanding all the requirements when registration, you make sure anything goes smoothly. So let’s dive into it!
Can you register a boat without a title in Texas?
Yes, you can register a boat without a title in Texas. The Texas Parks and Wildlife Department (TPWD) allows boat owners to register their vessels without a title. To do that, you must first fill out a form on the Texas Parks and Wildlife website for replacing lost or damaged titles. After that, follow the steps to register the boat without a title. You can find more information in other sections below.
A title establishes ownership of an item.
Types of boats need registration in Texas
The Texas Parks and Wildlife Department (TPWD) is responsible for registering boats in the state. Here are some boats you need to register:
- If your boat or vessel is motorized, it must be registered, regardless of its length
- All non-motorized vessels that are 14 feet in length or greater
- The US Coast Guard vessels
- All sailboats that have a CTHP rating greater than 25, regardless of the type of power
- Personal watercraft (e.g., Jet Skis and Wave Runners) used on public waters and powered by an inboard or outboard motor.
- All motorized vessels, regardless of length (including any sailboat with an auxiliary engine)
Kinds of boats don’t need registration in Texas
- Canoes and kayaks
- Boats propelled only by oars, paddles, and/or sails that are less than 14 feet long
- Non-motorized vessels on a private lake or pond
- The US Coast Guard ships commercial vessels that are used in coastal shipping.
- The vessels that are longer than 115 feet in length
- People who live in Texas can use boats that were made somewhere else without having to register them.
Steps to register a boat in Texas
Step 1: Choose a registration form
Visit the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department website and click on the “Boater Education” tab. Then, click on “Register Boat/Outboard Motor.”
Send them via email: Print out the boat registration form and mail it. To track your package securely, you must retain all documentation in its original form.
Visit any of the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department offices. For a more convenient approach, visit your nearby tax office to see if you can complete the transaction there.
Step 2: Fill out the form
Both forms require you to complete the application form in its entirety, including all information required by law. For instance:
If you have no title for your boat, first fill out the Texas Parks and Wildlife form to replace a lost or destroyed Texas title.
PWD 143 (Vessel/Boat/Application) for new registration
PWD 144, Outboard Motor Application, may be required for motorboats.
Step 3: Submit the application
If you don’t have title, you have to submit a bill of sale. Submit two (2) copies of the form and all required documents, such as proof of ownership, to any tax collector.
Once the form is complete, submit it with a copy of proof of ownership, such as the original bill of sale, title, or registration.
Step 4: Pay the registration fee
You must pay the applicable registration fee for your boat. This fee varies depending on the type of boat, its length, and other factors. You can refer to the cost table below.
The length of boat
Boat < 16 feet (Class A)
Livery boat <16 feet (Class A)
16 feet <boat < 26 feet (Class 1)
|26 feet <boat < 40 feet (Class 2)||
|Boat >40 feet||
Some extra fee such as:
Certificate of Number
Certificate of title
6.25% of the sale price
New resident tax:
|Standard title replacement.||
Fixing the title
|Titled to a bond||
Some information about boat registration in Texas
- The boat registration will be valid in Texas for two years, beginning on the date of purchase.
- Make your renewal payment prior to the expiration date of your registration.
- A new Certificate of Title and a registration decal will be issued upon renewal.
- Out-of-state boat registrations will give you the freedom to explore and cruise for up to 90 days.
- Take advantage of the possibility of paying your renewal fee up to three months before its expiration date. Or, if you prefer more convenience, go for the online registration renewal service.
- In terms of boat trailers, do boat trailers have titles? If you’re looking to register your boat trailer, the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department cannot help. Instead, you should head on over to the office of your local tax assessor-collector for assistance.
A boat trailer in the form of a two-wheeled vehicle whereby one man may move or roll the trailer into the water, pick up his boat, secure the trailer to the rear of a draft vehicleSource: https://patents.google.com/
FAQs Can you register a boat without a title in Texas
Can I use a bill of sale to get a boat title in Texas?
Yes, a bill of sale is acceptable for registering and titling a boat in Texas. To legally change who owns a boat, you must give the new owner a bill of sale or invoice.
Can you sell a boat in Texas without a title?
No, you can’t. A title printed in the seller’s name is required to transfer ownership of a previously owned vessel, boat, and/or outboard motor previously titled in Texas.
Can someone give you a boat in Texas?
Yes, it is possible to receive a boat as a gift in Texas. As per TPWD regulations, the previous owner of a boat or outboard motor must notify TPWD within 20 days after about its purpose. This boat is donated, sold, or given away to its new owner. So, can I donate a boat without a title? Read more to get detailed information!
How much does obtaining a bonded boat title in Texas cost?
It will cost you 37 dollars to get certificate of title for bonded title.
In short, can you register a boat without a title in Texas? You can register your boat without a title as long as you have proof of ownership. The process is simple and easy, and it can be done either online or in person. All you need to do is fill out the proper paperwork and submit it to the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department. Once registered, you will be able to legally operate your vessel in Texas waters. Have you ever registered a boat without a title? Please let justaddwaterbda.com know in the comments!